Peanut Butter Lava Snickerdoodles

Get ready for some rich, melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness! This weekend I decided to take it easy and enjoy the simpler things in life. I cooked, watched movies, and even came up with a new cookie recipe. After searching multiple grocery stores for a certain type of pudding mix, I gave up on the idea of White Chocolate Pudding Cookies…but instead, I came up with these gems..

20130923-102840.jpg

They may look like regular snickerdoodles, until you bust them open to a smooth peanut butter surprise! I basically just spooned out peanut butter in globs and froze them for about 30 minutes – note that it doesn’t matter if the globs are perfectly sized or rounded, since they will melt in the oven anyway. While the peanut butter balls are freezing, start prepping the dough. Once the peanut butter and the cookie batter are ready, wrap the batter around the frozen peanut butter and pop the new, larger cookie balls back into the freezer for a couple hours. Of course, you can also put them in a regular fridge, but I’m not patient enough for that. Chilling the dough is important because it’s what allows the cookies to become fluffy and thick, rather than fall flat, but I’m so unwilling to wait a whole 24 hours to enjoy so I cut corners a little and use the freezer to speed up the process. After the dough is sufficiently chilled, you can pop the cookie balls into the oven – easy as that! The peanut butter melts in the oven to become a delicious, gooey filling.

20130923-102900.jpg

You’ll also notice that I’m using a new format for the actual recipe (scroll down to see)! I found that the line-by-line method is a little too hard to follow when actually cooking, so I decided to create a template that wold be easier to read for those who choose to reproduce the recipes.

Here are some more pictures followed by the recipe:

20130923-102926.jpg

Peanut Butter Balls in the freezer

peanut butterballs

Cookie balls with peanut butter inside in the freezer

20130923-102920.jpg

mmm finished products

20130923-103328.jpg

peanut butter lava cookies

These are the perfect fall cookie and go great with a pumpkin spice latte 🙂 Try it out & let me know what you think! And of course tips on the new format are always appreciated as well!

-S

Categories: DIY, Food | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Lava Snickerdoodles

  1. These look delicious! I’ve been wanting to try a lava cookie recipe and I love the snickerdoodle/PB combination idea!

    • They are so good! I was surprised how well the peanut butter worked for the lava part – but it was perfect! Let me know if you do try them 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

