Weekend Wrap-up: 23rd Birthday Edition!

Friday was my 23rd birthday (cue Blink 182 ‘What’s My Age Again?’) and as it was my first one in DC, I was ready to go all-out with a weekend of friends, fun, and celebrating! And that is exactly what I did. (Disclaimer: This post is full of awkward pictures of me…yikes)

Now that I’m in the working world, I can’t exactly take off or do whatever I want on my birthday – if it falls during the week, I still have to go into the office. However, since I love my job so much, I didn’t even mind. Plus, I got to hang out with my awesome coworkers, and we even went out to a great Mexican place around the corner for a celebratory lunch.

birthday photo

Yes, this happened.

After work, my friend and I met my roommates are Capitol City Brewing Company at Metro Center for happy hour specials and dinner. I was told I had to try the Hefeweizen, which was on tap for $3.50 a glass and it was probably one of the best beers I’ve ever had. So light, so refreshing! Cap City has this thing where they give you soft pretzels instead of bread or chips and salsa as an appetizer and it’s pretty much why I go there. I could literally just eat a bunch of the pretzels and be good. But I always try to order food too…since just eating the free pretzels and beer would be rude and weird.

Jason, Elinor, and I

We then migrated to China Town to meet up with Elyse, her friend from high school, and a couple of my other friends from work at La Tasca. Soooo much Sangria ensued…and then I even got a mini cake!

Happy birthday to me!

Sunday was my good friend Sophia’s birthday (cue Taylor Swift’s ’22’) so it was natural for us, since we have the same group of liberty-loving friends, to have a joint party on Saturday night. We spent the day running around and getting ready. We made specialty drinks and cookies for the crowd and everyone really seemed to enjoy themselves (or at least I like to assume they did). It wasn’t like anything special or crazy happened, but it was just one of those nights you remember as being really awesome. I wish we took pictures at the party, but I guess that’s the price we pay for having too much fun…oh well!  Guess we’ll just have to do it all over again soon – housewarming party, anyone? For lack of pictures from Saturday, here is a picture of the birthday girls a couple weeks back:

Check out that Sephora lipstick! 🙂

It’s so crazy how you leave high school and you think your best years are in the past, then you go to college and you’re convinced that those are the best years of your life. But I’ve been in DC for a year now and after this weekend, I’m positive that my best years are ahead of me. I’m so grateful for all my friends in DC who were so good to me all weekend and I can’t wait to see what life has in store for the now older, wiser me!

xO -S

Categories: Interesting, Just for Fun, Local Places | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-up: 23rd Birthday Edition!

  1. This looks like so much fun! Happy birthday!

  2. Happy belated birthday, darling! You are so fun and personable, and it definitely shows through in all of your photos. I hope you had an amazing day!

    Melanie
    http://laceandcombatboots.com/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

