DIY Bulletin Board

This is the EASIEST DIY project EVER. I saw this somewhere long ago on Pinterest and have been meaning to try it ever since. I have all these random stickers, pins, bookmarks, and other political paraphernalia I’ve acquired in the past year from going to different conferences, workshops, and just being in DC. Some of it is really clever and I don’t want to throw it all away….but I also had no where to really put it. So alas, here is my political display board!

20130630-202407.jpg

Here’s what you’ll need:
– Frame in the size of your choice
– Roll of Cork (Sold at any craft store)

20130628-112316.jpg

20130628-112405.jpg

20130628-170649.jpg

20130630-202342.jpg

20130628-112254.jpg

20130630-202348.jpg

All you need to do is cut a piece of the cork the same size as the glass frame and replace the glass with that sheet of cork. I kept the cardboard backing that was in my frame to provide support for the board and it worked out really well. Without the cardboard, it would have been far too flimsy. After my board was complete, I just started sticking stuff to it and it is pretty much exactly what I envisioned!

20130630-202401.jpg

Admittedly, I probably could have bought a pre-made tack board for cheaper, but this was way more fun…and I got to pick the exact frame color and size I wanted! One thing to note, though, is to be careful with the cork because it rips pretty easily – either get a stronger roll, or just be gentle when cutting it!

I’ve seen these done on much smaller frames and they look equally as adorable and are probably a lot more manageable, but i just figured I mind as well go big since I’ll only keep collecting these fun items the longer I stay here!

What kind of stuff would you display on a homemade bulletin board?

-S

Categories: DIY, Just for Fun, Politics | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “DIY Bulletin Board

  1. diamondsdogtags

    Hearts it! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

