Doughnut Daze: New Food Trend

Elyse informed me a couple weeks ago that cupcakes are no longer a thing…though I was skeptical at first, thinking that no one could ever take away the public’s love for gourmet cupcakes, I finally accepted their fate after reading this Wall Street Journal Article about the decline of the cupcake market.

However, I didn’t stay sad for long once I found out that gourmet DOUGHNUTS were taking their place. This is apparently the new dessert trend in the food market…and I am not mad about it at all.  A new shop called Astro Doughnuts & Fried Chicken just opened up downtown and I got the chance to visit yesterday on my day off.

20130514-110221.jpg

Outside the shop…smaller than I thought!

It’s not an actual restaurant like I had imagined, more of a grab-and-go station…but I kinda liked it that way. It’s like the best fast food joint you’ve ever been to. We each got a doughnut to try and were finished with them before we even reached the White House (except me, the slowest eater on the planet).

20130514-110241.jpg

Most of us couldn’t resist the Salted Caramel Almond

There were all different flavors – everything from vanilla and chocolate glaze to bacon! I didn’t want to get too crazy on my first trip, so I went with the Salted Caramel Almond…and I was not disappointed! In fact, it was even better than I had imagined. The almonds were the perfect addition and it was JUST the right combo of salt and caramel.

20130514-110323.jpg

yummm

I know there are SO MANY options of places to eat in DC…and sometimes that means just sticking to your personal favorites…but I promise you, it is worth branching out this time! Astro Doughnuts stands out among all the DC restaurants as unique, fun, and fast – without giving up being delicious! I’ll definitely be returning soon to try the other part of the menu – fried chicken. I saw a sriracha flavor that I won’t be able to resist for long! 🙂 I highly recommend stopping by if you’re in the DC area…or looking up the nearest Gourmet doughnut shop wherever you’re at!

xO -S

Categories: Adventures, Food, Interesting, Local Places | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Doughnut Daze: New Food Trend

  1. Yes! I love the new doughtnut craze. Makes me wants to take a trip to DC this summer!

  2. This looks amazing, I love doughnuts!

  3. Oh my these look delicious!

    I can’t help but wonder though why “Fried Chicken” in the business name? lol
    Do they have fried chicken donughts?!

    • haha! I don’t think they serve them together….but in addition to doughnuts they serve fried chicken…kind of a weird combo…but I like it!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

