Volunteering at the National Kidney Walk

What do you do when your passion becomes your job? When your only hobby becomes your entire life? That is the dilemma I have been faced with since starting my job here in DC. I’ve always used politics as something to talk about with friends and a way to escape from the daily woes of Economics problem sets. However, now that I’m in this political world all day, everyday, I really need a little break every once in a while. Hence, I need a new hobby.  Unfortunately the real world isn’t as simple as college, where you can just look online at a list of 200+ clubs to join. So I thought about what else I was passionate about, looked into a few online options, and finally signed up to volunteer for the National Kidney Foundation’s Northern Virginia Kidney Walk!

Anyone who knows me knows that this issue hits close to home for me, so I was really excited to be able to help out even in the smallest way!  I was assigned to be a route Marshall  which basically just meant sitting at one area of the route and directing people…but it was cool because you actually got to see the walkers right when they were all starting. Then I moved to the finish line to cheer people on as they came in from the walk. It was such a small task, but really I’m just glad I got to be there!

20130423-134105.jpg

my buddy for the day

20130423-134128.jpg

So excited I even took a selfie!

Overall, it was an awesome experience. It being the first time I’ve ever really addressed the issue in public, I got super emotional during it. Just seeing all the heroic donors and super-healthy back-to-normal recipients walking was so encouraging and inspiring! I’m hoping I’ll be around for the DC area walk next month, and maybe I can even get involved in other ways as well!

And as an added bonus, after the walk I had a little extra time to explore Reston Town Center – which is AWESOME! All my favorite stores in one place…but it’s outside! Perfect way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon!

20130423-134153.jpg

Adorable fountain / pavillion area

So find something you’re interested in and get involved! Now that it’s nice out, there’s no excuse to sit home and watch movies all weekend!

-S

Categories: Adventures, Interesting, Just for Fun, Local Places, Self Improvement | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Volunteering at the National Kidney Walk

  1. I’m glad that there are people out there supporting these events. Some of the really popular ones have thousands of people show up but things like kidneys, heart disease etc. are always less popular (maybe this is just my area). Great job for supporting others with your time. Great post 🙂

  2. Anita Chatarjee

    You go girl! Proud of you for ALL you do!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Good job! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

