Delicious & Adorable Strawberry Cookies

You’ll know I mean business when I say that these cookies taste even better than they look! When I first saw this recipe on one of my favorite baking sites, Sally’s Baking Addiction, I knew I HAD to try it. It was so simple and different from my normal chocolatey messes. It definitely didn’t disappoint! These are some of the naturally softest, well-forming cookies I’ve made. Something about cake mix just allows the cookies to rise perfectly!

20130422-101404.jpg

Equally pretty & delicious!

Here’s what you’ll need:
– 1 box Strawberry Cake Mix
– 1/3 cup Canola Oil (or Vege)
– 2 Eggs
– 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
– 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract
– 1 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I mixed white & milk)

20130422-101417.jpg

SUPER simple recipe

Directions:
1. Mix cake mix and baking powder in large bowl

20130422-101426.jpg

2. In a separate and smaller bowl, combine eggs, canola oil, and vanilla extract

20130422-101434.jpg

3. Mix wet mixture into dry mixture & stir until well combined

20130422-101441.jpg

20130422-101450.jpg

4. Fold in chocolate chips

20130422-101504.jpg

20130422-101513.jpg

5. Roll into little balls – use taller balls if you want the cookies to turn out nice and thick!

20130422-101538.jpg

I like to keep them spread out really far to allow for expansion…

6. Pop in the oven for about 7 minutes – but be careful not to overbake! (This is one of my biggest mistakes in cookie-making…)

20130422-101624.jpg

20130422-101607.jpg

I chose to make these small and thick, rather than large and thin, because I prefer little bite-sized cookies so I can give more of them away…and so I don’t feel bad eating as many :p Needless to say, these have easily made it into my “Oh I just whipped these up” secret mind-blowingly simple cookie recipe archives. I love cake mix cookies, so I’m hoping to branch out and try some more recipes that use cake bases…it’s too easy not to experiment! …And now it’s only 11a.m. and I’m so ready & hungry for lunch after writing this! Oops!

xO – S

Categories: DIY, Food | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Delicious & Adorable Strawberry Cookies

  1. They look perfect to me! I love thick cookies and yours look so good! I need to go grab a box of cake mix and make these again ASAP! SO glad you love visiting my website 🙂

    • Thanks! I seriously love all your recipes…it was a tough choice on which to try next but once I saw these I was kinda in love! And they totally lived up to it!

  2. Your cookies look so cute and I love the strawberry and double chocolate chip combination!

  3. I am loving the pink! My reader is being a total poo and I didn’t get any of your updates. I’m happy I checked in and was pleasantly surprised by three!

    • Oh no! I actually think it’s our reader!! We keep trying to contact support but I have no idea what’s happening! 😦 but so happy you checked in anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

