Simple Spring Spaghetti

Is feta cheese a weird thing to have leftovers of? I feel like it is. Either way, I had some leftover feta cheese that I didn’t want to waste and since I’ve also been trying to cook more, I decided to find something fun to do with it. I bake all the time, but as far as actual food goes, I’m pretty much a stick-to-soup kinda girl. So this is my first step into the process of “cooking.” Although I guess this may not even qualify as “cooking,” since it’s more like just putting a bunch of things together and hoping it turns out well. But it at least makes me feel semi-accomplished.

20130410-141345.jpg

yummm

Here’s what you’ll need:
– Spaghetti (however much you want to eat – no judgement)
– Olive Oil
– Feta Cheese
– Minced Garlic
– Tomatoes
– Black Olives
– Whatever spices you like – I used garlic pepper (I’m obsessed with the stuff) & parsley

20130410-141239.jpg

I don’t list any measurements for the toppings because I believe that kinda stuff is all subjective. I personally like a lot of seasoning, so I’m pretty heavy on the toppings, but if you’re not, just keep sprinkling until you reach your desired amount!

20130410-141246.jpg

look at that steam!

20130410-141259.jpg

20130410-141332.jpg

doused in olive oil

20130410-141351.jpg

Finished product – mmmm

The recipe is awesome because it’s so versatile. You can mix-and-match which spices and veggies you want to add – I’m thinking about throwing in some peas or green beans next time! The possibilities are endless! Also, the olive oil makes it a lighter meal – as opposed to some of the heavier alfredo or tomato-based sauces that you may not want to eat in the hotter months. It’s something you can whip up quickly on a busy day that’s not a microwave  meal so you can at least feel like you made SOME kind of solid effort. It’s all about taking baby steps into adulthood (ironic?).

-S

Categories: DIY, Food, Self Improvement | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Simple Spring Spaghetti

  1. This looks really good! I have some specialty pasta I picked up at the farmers market I’ve been needing to make. Knew I wanted to include tomatoes but I’m loving the idea of adding feta! (You can never go wrong by adding feta cheese). Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. I’m obsessed with feta. I make a version of this with sun dried tomatoes but I might have to try it with olives next time!

  3. Pingback: Garlic and Herb Pasta with Chicken, Shallots, Tomatoes, and Feta Cheese | Bite Sized

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

