What’s getting us through the week

We all have those work weeks that are long and unending (okay all of them) and occasionally you need a little pick me up, something that can reminds you that outside of your temperature controlled office, the sun is shining, the birds are chirping and the weekend is only a few days away!

Shianne and I thought we would share ours, just in case you’re looking for something else to cheer you up as we approach Friday at 5:00pm

Shianne says:

1.       Green Tea

Do you think I have enough here at the office to last??

 I’ve been fighting off the onset of a  cold for over a week now. I thought I had gotten rid of it…but it came back with a vengeance after this weekend. I’m not full-on sick (although some may disagree), but I’m determined not to be – especially with such important events coming up at work next week. So I’ve been doing my due diligence and skipping the gym in favor of yoga, getting lots of sleep, and taking NyQuil before bed…but what’s REALLY been getting me through the week is Green Tea.

Defines my life this week,, work & tea!

Seriously, this stuff is magic. I don’t know why I’ve only just discovered this greatness, but I’m so glad I did. Adding a little honey and sugar to a warm cup of tea has made every morning this week much more bearable. AND it’s the perfect amount of caffeine, since everyone knows I’m the last person on the planet who needs to be drinking coffee!

2.       The Lonely Island

Lonely Island

I don’t know how or why this happened. But I’m currently OBSESSED with The Lonely Island. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always loved them, but this week I’ve been listening to them as casual background music at work and to wake me up on my morning metro rides.

My old school iPod that holds a zillion songs playing one of my lonely island favorites

There’s something about the hilarity of Lonely Island that just makes any day better – and since I’ve been feeling so weird lately and super stressed personally, they’ve pretty much been keeping me sane. Sometimes, you’ve just gotta blast a little silly music to loosen you up after a long day at work!

 Elyse says:

1. Chocolate Covered Coconut Macaroons

If you say my post about making matzoh ball soup, you’d know that I’m currently participating in the tradition and eating only Passover friendly foods, which are unfortunately a little bland. Luckily, one thing exists that makes me smile every time I eat one — Dark Chocolate Covered Macaroons. The coconut, the chocolate, its just all so amazing..basically a mounds bar but kosher for Passover. Yummm

2. Smash

What is it about this show, its not the story line, the outfits, or even the cast (although they are pretty amazing) but something about it never fails to pick up my spirits.  I don’t watch Glee ever, but Smash somehow I hate to miss. Anyways, it makes NYC look fabulous, and I more or less want to be best friends with Megan Hilty. If you haven’t seen it yet, its almost always on demand and an episode or two with a glass of wine and you’ll be cheery in no time!

& We both agree on:

The Voice

no.. we want you all!

We’ve both loved this show for a while now, but with Shakira and Usher joining the team this season – we’re officially obsessed! (Seriously, top 3 men in the entertainment industry on TV all the time…)

 It’s always good to have a couple of comfort items to get you through the week – what do you use?

x S&E

Categories: Interesting, Self Improvement | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What’s getting us through the week

  1. I just started drinking green tea and I don’t know why I hadn’t started earlier! It is so delicious.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

