California Dreamin’

“Out on bail fresh outta jail, California dreamin
Soon as I stepped on the scene, I’m hearin hoochies screamin”

Okay so my trip to northern California was not quite like that…

Unforeseen circumstances lead to me flying out to Redding, CA last week and while in general there was a lot to do and not much time for site seeing, I did manage to get a tour of the Sundial Bridge at Turtle Bay. Redding is about 2.5 hours north of Sacramento and while its way out there, maaan is it beautiful.Like crazy wilderness beautiful.

Most of my pictures don’t do it justice but hopefully you’ll get the idea.

IMG_0752

IMG_0751

IMG_0749

IMG_0748

IMG_0753

IMG_0755

Here is the silly thing about this sundial bridge– it actually works at a sundial. Except due to the earths rotation that only happens during the summer solstice– around June 20th. Woops! Other than that is “the largest working sundial” in the world I believe. Certainly in the U.S.

Coming from the East coast, I’m always amazed by the West coast and their crazy majestic mountains. They just spring up out of nowhere, you go from flat to 10,000 ft elevation in the blink of an eye.

IMG_0759

Clear blue water? We’re not at the Genesee anymore…

IMG_0756

IMG_0758

That peak in the back is Lassen Mt. Its actually a volcano that has not erupted since 1915 (scary!). Near by there is Mt. Shasta, one of the tallest mountains in North America, and I somehow missed the chance to get a picture of it. Its wonderfully snow capped and beautiful from all angles though. And it can be seen for miles and miles away– like 2 hours driving distance away. Mt. Washington doesn’t hold a stone to it , falling short at only 6,200 feet tall, but my NH pride will never fully accept that.

Also I had IN N’ OUT burger for the first time– LIFE CHANGED.

xx E

P.S. notice the pictures are a little better than usual! I dug out my old camera so hopefully more non-phone pics in the future:)

Categories: Adventures, Interesting | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “California Dreamin’

  1. I loooove In n Out burger! Looks like a beautiful trip.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

