Peanut Butter Rolo Cookies

Did you know that last Friday was National Peanut Butter Lovers Day? Well, it may be a week late, but I’m still celebrating with these delish new cookies! And it’s a good thing they turned out so well after my epic fail last week. Also, I apologize in advance for the pictures. My dough-covered hands don’t always do so well trying to photograph moments….I’ll be looking into a personal photographer…or a better camera…

20130307-115542.jpg

yummm

I adopted this recipe from one of my favorite baking blogs – Sally’s baking addiction, and although mine didn’t turn out quite as thick and fluffy, they were still soft and delicious!

Here’s what you’ll need:
– 1 package of rolos candy
– 1 cup peanut butter
– 1 stick softened butter
– 1/2 cup light brown sugar
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 1 1/4 cup flour
– 1 egg
– 3/4 cup peanut butter
– 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 tsp baking soda

ingredients

Just the basics + rolos + peanut butter

Directions

1. Combine butter and sugar in large bowl

20130307-114655.jpg

2. Stir in peanut butter, egg, and vanilla (in that order)

20130307-114953.jpg

3. Mix in baking soda and flour

20130307-115031.jpg

4. Refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes (I kept mine in for a couple of hours)

5. Create cradles for the rolos out of dough

20130307-115138

20130307-115124

20130307-115149.jpg

6. Cover the exposed part of the candy with more dough

20130307-115311.jpg

20130307-115322.jpg

7. Bake for 9 minutes at 350 degrees

8. Eat & enjoy!

20130307-115423.jpg

I kept a few at home at give out to my friends (after all, what would the cookie palace be without cookies?) and I brought the rest into the office. Everyone loved them, despite me thinking they turned out a little too flat. This is definitely another recipe I’ll add to my list of favorites!

Next time I might try to go a little lighter on the dough and make my cookie balls taller rather than wider, just so I can get a more cookies out of the dough amount….but even with them being a little flatter than I had hoped, they were delicioussss! Try them out and let us know what you think!

-S

Categories: DIY, Food | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Rolo Cookies

  1. Did you somehow know that Rolos are one of my many sugary weaknesses?

    • hahaha I’m glad someone appreciates Rolos as much as I do! They’re totally underestimated in the candy world! Oh well, more for us 🙂

  2. They look amazing!!! Thanks for making them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

