Baking Fail! Red Velvet Oreo Brownies

So this whole blogging thing is about learning the hard way and discovering new things, right? Yet so far I’ve only posted a bunch of my old go-to recipes that I know work. Well, that is clearly not a good depiction of my life. Because for every 1 item I make that turns out right – there are 2 that I screw up. And that’s the nature of being a 20-something. It’s frustrating because I feel like it’s a waste of money, but I just keep telling myself “such is life.”

I’ve never claimed to be an expert baker – and it’s a good thing I haven’t…cause this week definitely would have proved me wrong! My roommate, on the other hand, actually is kinda an expert baker (and chef…but we won’t go there). When I returned from my second week of travelling for work, I came home to the most delicious red velvet oreo truffle brownies! So obviously I wanted to recreate them on my own….which did not work out as planned.

Here’s how it went down:

20130304-094636.jpg

it seemed easy enough….

As per usual, I tried to take the easy way out and bought a base cake mix for the red velvet and mixed that up real quick with no signs of disaster quite yet…

20130304-094711.jpg

no issues yet…..

After sticking it in the oven for the appropriate amount of time, I pulled it out to discover that it had puffed up like someone in the middle of an allergic reaction!

20130304-094731.jpg

……starting to think something went wrong.

And so I debated what to do. My roommate suggested I slice off a little of the top layer, but for some reason, I still thought everything was just fine. So I proceeded with the rest of the recipe and whipped up the oreo truffle spread using crushed oreos, cream cheese, and a little sour cream to taste.

20130304-094800.jpg

looks weirdly, grossly delicious

I proceeded to spread the mixture on top of the layer of cake while it was still in the pan, which only partially worked out. It didn’t really mix with the red velvet…it just kind of sat there like oil sits on top of water when combined. This is where I start to get worried cause it just looks so awkward!

20130304-094854.jpg

The last step was sprinkling mini-chocolate chips on top that were supposed to just meld into the oreo mixture for a little touch of chocolate….which also didn’t work as planned. The chips just sat there as well.

20130304-094924.jpg

To try and make it better, I poured the rest of the chocolate chips on and put it back in the oven for 2 minutes and then tried to spread the chips and create a layer of chocolate. Which worked, but only to an extent. It still just looked like 3 different things sitting on top of each other, none of the layers melting together as planned. And so I was left with a weird, thick, cakey concoction that was falling apart when I tried to cut it. I tried to freeze them after cutting, hoping they would solidfy in there…but it only made it worse.

20130304-095018.jpg

a big pile of mush….

20130304-095043.jpg

not so yummy…

In the end they didn’t actually taste THAT bad. Just a little too cakey and thick for what I wanted. I guess next time I’ll have to suck it up and take the time out to make the red velvet portion from scratch so they’re more fudgey than cakey. Oh well – ya live and ya learn, I guess! I may try them again soon so I can get the real deal deliciousness out to you all!

xO -S

Categories: DIY, Food | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Baking Fail! Red Velvet Oreo Brownies

  1. People don’t often post about their recipes fails so kudos for honesty. Good luck with the next recipe.

    • Thank you! It was definitely disappointing, but hopefully I can take this round and tweek a couple things and get it right next time!

  2. Looking forward to see the remakes 🙂 As long as it tastes good, it doesn’t really matter what it looks like 😀

    • I guess they weren’t that bad – but they were just so hard to eat. But now I’m more determined to get it right so hopefully I’ll have my second try up soon!

      • Looking forward to seeing them! And don’t worry about it, it happens to everyone. I made a cake before christmas and it was in the oven for over an hour but the middle just wouldn’t cook! Terrible! I just ate around the uncooked bit haha 🙂 xoxox

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Rolo Cookies | Liberty On Less

  4. Pingback: Round 2 = Redemption! Red Velvet Truffle Brownies | Liberty On Less

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

