Brighten Up Your House Keys!

So I may have picked up a thing or two from working at Jo-Ann Fabrics through my high school years…and every now and then, my crafty side comes out. My latest project was (re)painting my apartment keys to make them more fun.

I’ve always been obsessed with nail polish – new colors, new designs, new trends…I loved it all. But in an attempt to be more of an adult, I started getting gel manicures a couple months ago – there are a lot fewer options for colors, but I was so sick of the chipping and breaking, so it’s been a good decision overall. But now I have no idea what to do with all this:

My extensive nailpolish collection

My extensive nailpolish collection

So every couple months I repaint my house keys to spice up some normally boring items. This time around I chose some pastels as a base and made a last minute addition of a sparkly layer on top.

My choices

My choices

IMG_2139

Sparkles

The first step was taking the current colors off…so naturally I let them soak in a shot glass full of nail polish remover…

Soaking in a shot glass....

Soaking in a shot glass….

Then I began the painting. It takes a couple of layers each, depending on what color and type of polish you’re using. Also, it takes a little while for each side to dry…so you just gotta be patient, which is why I like to do these things while watching movies….or catching up on Community before the premiere tonight (can’t wait!).

IMG_2143

First coat

2nd coat

2nd coat

By about 3 coats in you should be good to go….unless you’re like me and want to add even more pizzazz 

3rd coat

3rd coat

This was the point where my keys kept smudging because I wasn’t waiting long enough…so I decided to let them hang off the table using my wallet as a weight…

Closeup

Closeup

And I forgot to take a picture of this…but make sure you add a couple of layers of clear polish on as well to protect it from smudging and chipping easily. My last set lasted over 4 months and only barely chipped.

Image

Letting them dry

Image

Finished Product – Love!

Moral of the story: this is an awesome, fun, and cheap project….and the finished products are adorable. Win-win-win. I’m thinking red, white, and blue for next time?

– xO S

Categories: DIY | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Brighten Up Your House Keys!

  1. Pingback: Up and Down the East Coast « Liberty On Less

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

