Shianne Discovers Grown-up Makeup

I’m generally a ‘don’t fix what’s not broken’ kind of girl, and I’m very lucky to have fairly good skin, so my makeup regime has always consisted of just the basics – drugstore mascara and eyeliner. But having a job that keeps you out of the house for 11+ hours a day starts to wear you out physically. I found that even by lunch my makeup was starting to smudge and I looked incredibly tired and worn, even if I wasn’t  This was frustrating me and making me feel extremely unprofessional…but I didn’t know how to fix it. I thought I just needed more sleep, but when that didn’t work, I decided I needed to take more significant action to reduce the seemingly relentless bags under my eyes.

My search for a solution brought me to Sephora, where Elyse and a couple employees helped me talk through my concerns and identify the products that would be right for me. I finally settled on a Sephora-brand brush-stick concealer and foundation powder by Bare Minerals and I’m obsessed with the results. The concealer/foundation combo is actually dual purpose – it brightens my eyes, but it also protects from my other makeup smudging throughout the day!

Newbies

I’ve also been using Urban Decay roll-on eyeliner and Smashbox mascara from Sephora, and both have been great as well. Especially the eyeliner, I cannot get over how long it lasts!

 

The products are relatively expensive, but in my opinion, they’re totally worth it. Not only does the makeup last long ON me, but you also don’t need to cake it on, so it’ll last longer in general – I don’t anticipate having to replenish my beauty supply stock but once every 6 months, if that.  It’s just one of those things where I didn’t want to spend the money upfront, but when I finally caved, it turned out to be a much better deal….it’s amazing what my adult life has taught me. I’m so done with dried-up, drug-store brands that last 2 months total and 20 minutes on my face.

big girl makeup bag!

The only catch is, once you start using makeup, you also have to start a more vigorous face cleansing system. I picked up some Neutrogena face cleansing wipes as well as face wash, recommended by Elyse, and they’ve been working really well! It may sounds like now that I’ve added all these steps that my morning routine would have increased like crazy, but it only adds about 5-7 minutes when all is said and done.

 

Let us know what your favorite beauty products and tricks are!

-S

Categories: DIY, Self Improvement | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Shianne Discovers Grown-up Makeup

  1. Must Have Boxes

    I’m a huge, huge bareMinerals fan!

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

  2. I still mostly use eyeliner and mascara with the occasional spot cover up… I’m glad they helped you in the store because that’s always the part I’m nervous about!

  3. You really can’t go wrong with Bare Minerals- great products.

  4. Pingback: Sephora Color Lip Last | Liberty On Less

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

