I want to marry you cookies

So these little guys were dubbed “I want to marry you cookies” because its said that if you make them for someone, they’ll instantly fall in love. I first made these for my roommates in college so… the name lost its meaning but regardless I am now in love with them!

 I found them on one of my favorite food blogs, Missippi Kitchen here, when I needed a cookie recipe I could make from scratch with out needing a mixer. The secret to these puppies is that you cream together the butter and the white and brown sugar, creating a toffee sweetness not found in other cookies.

It doesn’t hurt that oatmeal chocolate chip are my favorite kind 😉

Here is what you’ll need:


https://i0.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-jmE0dVEaYyw/T9wClO-hflI/AAAAAAAAATo/O98S-Sw79QI/s400/2012-06-15+22.30.43.jpg

  • 1 Cup of Butter
  • 1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup uncooked rolled oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Step One:
Melt the butter on medium
Next take it off of the heat and add in the sugars!
https://i0.wp.com/4.bp.blogspot.com/-11K2hIeh5Uk/T9wEUxI1mvI/AAAAAAAAAUA/oHZdyjuPA_0/s400/2012-06-15+22.41.24.jpg
You should get a grainy consistency at first, but keep mixing! All of the butter should be incorporated, and it should have a smooth texture.
https://i0.wp.com/4.bp.blogspot.com/-YFRc7_ckRdI/T9wEnmCMDAI/AAAAAAAAAUQ/PatA_fTvOI8/s400/2012-06-15+22.46.24.jpg
Throw the pan into the refrigerator for ten minutes to solidify slightly.
After the 10 minutes, add in the eggs – one whole egg and one yoke only – and the vanilla
https://i0.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/-Mx3VW94eMYk/T9wEfXtSM-I/AAAAAAAAAUI/m3Mnw4DrvXU/s400/2012-06-15+22.46.09.jpg
Stir that all together, and add it to the dry ingredients ( I got bad a taking pictures at this point) followed by the chocolate chips. I prefer all semi-sweet chocolate and no white chocolate but that’s just me!
Now scoop out one inch side balls and place them on a baking sheet (as many as you can fit without touching!) and let it cool again in the fridge for 30 to solidify again.

While you’re waiting, pre-heat the oven to 325 F, and have a snack

annnnnd…
tada!

tada!

Once the cookies are more solid,  take out the baking sheet, and separate them onto another one , fitting about 12 to a sheet. Pop that in the oven for 13 minutes, and rotate until you’ve baked all your cookies! Tada! The smell alone is intoxicating, so pour some milk and congratulate yourself on a delicious job well done. I know I will!

xx E

Categories: DIY, Food | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I want to marry you cookies

  1. Holy yum. These look great!

  2. I need to build the patience to do this with the butter and sugar : ) When I want cookies, I don’t seem to be able to wait for the extra steps! Haha.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.